Brandenburg Sinfonia — resident orchestra at the Thaxted Festival

For many years the Brandenburg Sinfonia has been the resident orchestra at the Thaxted Festival.

Traditional events include the opening and closing concerts, a family concert designed specifically with young people in mind, as well as other educational and outreach activities.

Arrive early and get a special treat - for free!

Arrive early and get a special treat - for free!

Before a concert, members of the orchestra are often to be found wandering through Thaxted, giving impromptu free concerts!

The Festival takes place over four weekends, and in 2019 the dates are Friday 21 June through to Sunday 14 July.

The Brandenburg Sinfonia will once again open the Festival - this year with a fantastic programme including Mozart, Gershwin, Warlock and Tchaikovsky. We then return on Saturday 29 June for the centrepiece concert, featuring Mendelssohn, Schumann and Finzi.

Keep an eye on the Thaxted Festival website for news of tickets going on sale, and to see the full selection of concerts on offer.

Friday 21 June, 8pm

We open the 2019 Thatxted Festival with early Mozart: a symphony written just before he left Salzburg to strike out on his own in Vienna, and the Sinfonia Concertante which was inspired by his tour of Europe in 1779. Tchaikovsky’s Serenade was inspired by Mozart’s Serenades, and is a firm Festival favourite. Gershwin’s Lullaby was originally written for piano in 1919, while Warlock’s Capriol Suite is a set of six 16th century dances for strings. In association with Orchestras Live.

W A Mozart | Symphony No 24 K182 in B flat
W A Mozart | Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola K364 in E flat
George Gershwin | Lullaby
Peter Warlock | Capriol Suite
Piotr Tchaikovsky | Serenade Op 48

Tickets: £29/23/15/10 limited view / £12 age 30 and under offer

Book tickets >

Saturday 29 June, 7.30pm

The Brandenburg Sinfonia provides a traditional centrepiece for our season. Mendelssohn’s overture inspired by the island of Staffa and the waves crashing on Fingal’s Cave opens the concert, while his Italian Symphony closes it in bright and sunny mode with its final saltarello folk dance. Schumann’s ever-popular concerto is played by star pianist Tom Poster. Described by The Strad as ‘mercurially brilliant’ and BBC Music Magazine as producing ‘a beautiful tone that you may sink into like a pile of cushions’, Tom also performs Finzi’s Eclogue; featuring in Classic FM’s top 100 chart and hauntingly beautiful, it deserves a place in any listening list. This concert is sponsored by Thaxted Music Lovers. In association with Orchestras Live.

Felix Mendelssohn | Hebrides Overture Op 26 (Fingal’s Cave)
Robert Schumann | Piano Concerto Op 54 in A Minor
Gerald Finzi | Eclogue Op 10
Felix Mendelssohn | Symphony No 4 Op 90 in A Major (Italian)

Tickets: £35/28/18/10 / £12 age 30 and under offer

Book tickets >